California Voter Foundation Logo

Voting Technology


Compiled by Kim Alexander, President
California Voter Foundation


Electronic voting systems will be used in an estimated 25-29 percent of the nation on November 2. Overall 29 states will use some electronic voting systems, and there are hundreds of jurisdictions across the nation using e-voting.

To make it easier for the public and the media to track electronic voting in this presidential election, CVF has compiled a list of the 25 most populous places in the country using e-voting. This list was compiled using data from state election web sites, the Census Bureau, Election Data Services' map, and the National Association of Counties' web site (

The list identifies the city and/or Metropolitan Statistical Area (MSA), followed by the name of the vendor, the type of e-voting machine, and the county in which the city is located. An asterisk appears beside those cities located in states identified as presidential election battleground states. Cities and MSAs are generally shown in descending order, starting with the most populous.

Featuring the following states:

California, Colorado, Georgia, Florida, Louisiana, Maryland, Nevada, New Jersey, New Mexico, North Carolina, Ohio, Pennsylvania, Tennessee, Texas and Virginia.


Metropolitan Statistical Area (MSA)

Vendor, machine type (County)

1) Houston, TX
(MSA: Houston - Baytown - Sugar Land)

Hart eSlate (Harris County, Texas)

2) *Philadelphia, PA
(MSA: Philadelphia - Camden - Wilmington)

Danaher electronic (Philadelphia County)
Sequoia Advantage (Montgomery County)

3) Dallas, TX
(MSA: Dallas - Fort Worth - Arlington)

Dallas: ES&S iVotronic (Dallas County)
Fort Worth, Arlington: Hart eSlate (Tarrant County)

4) San Antonio, TX

ES&S iVotronic (Bexar County)

5) San Jose, CA
(MSA: San Francisco - San Jose - Oakland)

San Jose: Sequoia Edge (Santa Clara County)
Oakland: Diebold Accuvote TS (Alameda County)

6) * Columbus, OH

Danaher Controls, Model No. 1242 (formerly Shouptronic 1242) (Franklin County)

7) Austin, TX
(MSA: Austin - Round Rock)

Hart eSlate (Travis County)

8) Baltimore, MD
(MSA: Baltimore-Towson)

Diebold Accuvote TS (Anne Arundel County & Baltimore County)
Sequoia Advantage (City of Baltimore)

9) Memphis, TN

Danaher Shouptronic electronic voting machines (Shelby County)

10) Washington, DC
(MSA: Washington - Arlington VA - Alexandria VA)

Washington, DC: Sequoia Edge (District of Columbia County)
* Arlington, VA: Advanced Voting Solutions WinVote (Arlington County)
* Alexandria VA: Winvote (Fairfax County), Hart eSlate (City of Fairfax)

11) Nashville, TN

Shoup 1242 electronic voting machines (Davidson County)

12) El Paso, TX

Diebold Accuvote TS (El Paso County)

13) * Denver, CO
(MSA: Denver - Aurora)

Sequoia Advantage (Denver County)

14) Charlotte, NC

Microvote (Mecklenburg County)

15) New Orleans, LA
(MSA: New Orleans-Metairie-Kenner)

Sequoia Advantage (Orleans Parish)

16) * Las Vegas, NV
(MSA: Las Vegas - Paradise)

Sequoia Advantage & Edge (Clark County)

17) * Albuquerque, NM

Danaher 1242 and Sequoia Edge (Bernalillo County)

18) Atlanta, GA
(MSA: Atlanta-Sandy Springs-Marietta)

Diebld Accuvote TS (DeKalb & Fulton Counties)

19) * Miami, FL
(MSA: Miami-Fort Lauderdale-Miami Beach)

ES&S iVotronic, (Miami-Dade County, Broward County)
Sequoia Edge (Palm Beach County)

20) Santa Ana, CA

Hart eSlate (Orange County)

21) * Tampa, FL
(MSA: Tampa - St. Petersburg - Clearwater)

Tampa: Sequoia Edge (Hillsborough County)
St. Petersburg: Sequoia Edge (Pinellas County)

22) Riverside, CA
(MSA: Riverside - San Bernardino - Ontario)

Sequoia Edge (Riverside County, San Bernardino County)

23) Baton Rouge, LA

Sequoia Advantage (E. Baton Rouge Parish)

24) Greensboro, NC

ES&S Votronic (Guilford County)

25) * Trenton, NJ

Sequoia Advantage (Mercer County)




Site Map | Privacy Policy | About

This page was first published on October 27, 2004 | Last updated on January 27, 2006
Copyright California Voter Foundation, All Rights Reserved.