Insurance Commissioner

current office holder | past office holders | election archives


The insurance chief

Elected for 4 years
$140,000 annual salary

runs the state Department of Insurance

licenses and regulates insurance companies

enforces the laws of the California Insurance Code

responds to public questions and complaints about insurance

Current Office Holder

John Garamendi


How to Contact John Garamendi

See the website below for each insurance division address and phone number.

Web Site:



Important Documents for John Garamendi


Inaugural Address 1/6/03

Press Releases


2002 Campaign Information for John Garamendi


Top Three Priorites

Ballot Pamphlet Statement

Official Election Results

Past Office Holders

2000 - 2002
Harry W. Low

1995 - 2000

Chuck Quackenbush, Republican

1991 - 1994

John Garamendi, Democrat

1989 - 1990

Roxani Gillespie, Republican

CVF Election Archives

2002 General Election Candidates for Insurance Commissioner

1998 General Election Candidates for Insurance Commissioner

1998 California Campaign Finance Database

1994 General Election Candidates for Insurance Commissioner

Main Page

What's New




Contact Us

Support CVF

This page was first published on March 4, 1999 | Last updated on April 21, 2003
copyright 1994 - 1999, California Voter Foundation. All rights reserved .